How to Disable Private Browsing in Safari on iPhone

Private Browsing, also called “incognito mode,” is a way to surf the web in a more private way. Your browsing history won’t be saved or remembered while you’re in Private Browsing.

For example, when you open Safari’s history again, the websites you visit won’t be there. When you close Safari, the things you searched for will be erased. Also, your Safari activities won’t be sent to other Apple devices if you use the same Apple ID on more than one Apple device. For instance, Handoff won’t work with Safari when you’re in Private Browsing mode.

In this article, I show you how to remove the Private Browsing option from Safari so that whoever uses your iPhone or iPad won’t be able to turn on private mode. There are many times when you might want to do this. For example, if your child is using your iPad or iPhone, you can turn off the private mode so that they can’t find the option to turn it on.

How to Disable Private Browsing in Safari on iPhone

We’ll do this with Screen Time. First, let’s talk about how to use Private Browsing:

  1. Open Safari.
  2. Long-press the tabs button, which looks like two squares on top of each other, and then tap New Private Tab.
  3. If you do the steps above, Safari will open a new page in private mode after you do so. When you are browsing in private mode, the URL address bar will be black. To leave private mode, tap the Tabs button again and choose Start Page.

Now, we’re going to take away the option to open a new private tab or page. When the user clicks the Tabs button, the Private option will not be shown. How to do it:

  1. Open Settings.
  2. Tap Screen Time.
  3. Tap Turn on Screen Time, tap it again, and then do what it says. If you have already set up Screen Time, skip this step.
  4. Tap Restrictions on Content and Privacy.
  5. Tap Restrictions on Content. You will be asked to enter the passcode for Screen Time.
  6. Tap Web Content.
  7. Tap Limit Adult Websites.
  8. Close Screen Time.

You won’t be able to see the Private Browsing option in Safari the next time you open it. If you want it back, go back to the Screen Time settings and turn off the option to Limit Adult Websites.

You can now keep track of what your child does. Your child won’t be able to turn on private mode. I’m sorry for them. Because of this method, you can only visit a limited number of adult sites, such as those with porn, gambling, etc. You can change the settings for Screen Time to let certain websites load.